825 North University Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109

In a season celebrating the Americas, it only makes sense to include one of the great American orchestras that is also admired as one of the top ensembles in the world. Founded shortly after the end of World War I, the Cleveland Orchestra has been guided by seven music directors, each of whom has left his mark on the widely admired “Cleveland” sound: Nikolai Sokoloff, Artur Rodzinski, Erich Leinsdorf, George Szell, Lorin Maazel, Christoph von Dohnányi, and Franz Welser-Möst, who leads the ensemble and the French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard in this performance.

· Bartók : Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celeste, Sz. 106, BB 114 (1936)
· Schumann : Piano Concerto in a minor, Op. 54 (1845)
· Wagner : Overture to Tannhäuser (1845)

Official Website: http://www.ums.org/s_current_season/artist.asp?pageid=610

Added by umsmarket on July 27, 2010