110 South Hall
Berkeley, California

Stephen Lee, CEO of Star Wreck Studios, is coming to the iSchool to give an informal talk. He's a truly interesting guy, and he leads a group that's trying to reinvent the way that movies are made.

Stephen wants to talk about anything that we would be interested in discussing, especially in regards to Star Wreck's production model, technology, the business side, licensing, and social issues.

For more information on Stephen and Star Wreck Studios, see below. And feel free to distribute this email.

Star Wreck Studios is a film studio, that is specialized in blending the Internet and the film industry together by unleashing the creative potential of Internet communities, and changing the whole chain of filmmaking. Through the launch of its new online service www.wreckamovie.com, it makes it possible to collaboratively produce content of all types: from short films to feature films and to all distribution screens – from Internet and mobile to film theater.

Star Wreck Studios was established in February of 2007 by the creators of the world’s first feature-length collaborative Internet film, Star Wreck: In the Pirkinning. It is headquartered at the center of the global Internet film world in Tampere, Finland and is 8,858 Km (5,504 miles) from Hollywood, California.

Stephen Lee is the CEO of Star Wreck Studios and focused on the business side of the company (i.e. not the film production expert but will answer as many questions as possible from all areas). He is an American and former engineer who has been living and developing businesses in Finland for 9 years. Since 1986, he has worked in many different companies and startups including General Motors, Bosch, ADIC (mass data storage), Razorfish and Wapit Ltd before founding a mobile small software company called Max Rumpus in 2001. Steve is a graduate of Kettering University (Formerly GMI Engineering and Management Institute, Flint MI, '91) and has an MBA from the Helsinki School of Economics('00).

Added by natR on February 5, 2008