825 North University Avenue
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109

Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
Christian Tetzlaff, violin

The San Francisco Symphony and music director Michael Tilson Thomas kick off their two-day educational and performance residency with a performance that features some of Stravinsky’s most well-known works and the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto, last performed on a UMS program over a decade ago by Elmar Oliveira and the Chicago Symphony. This performance features violinist Christian Tetzlaff as soloist. Tetzlaff, who performed a recital of solo violin works in 2008 at Hill Auditorium, is internationally recognized as one of the most important violinists of his generation whose musical integrity, technical assurance, and intelligent, compelling interpretations have set the standards to which violin performances are measured.

· Kissine : New Work Commissioned by SFS (2009)
· Tchaikovsky : Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35 (1878)
· Ravel : Valses nobles et sentimentales (1912)
· Liszt : Symphonic Poem No. 2: Tasso – Lament and Triumph, S. 96 (1849)

Presented by the University Musical Society, www.ums.org.

Official Website: http://ums.org/s_current_season/artist.asp?pageid=560

Added by umsmarket on July 24, 2009