Southbank Centre, Belvedere Road
London, England

Royal Festival Hall
Klaus Obermaier / London Philharmonic Orchestra

Tuesday 26 June 2007 - Wednesday 27 June 2007

Edgard Varese Arcana
Philip Glass Prelude from Akhnaten
Igor Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Klaus Obermaier digital artist
Marin Alsop conductor
Julia Mach dancer

Digital artist Klaus Obermaier, conductor Marin Alsop and the London Philharmonic Orchestra create a 21st century realisation of Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring. As the London Philharmonic Orchestra play Stravinsky's driving, rhythmic score live, a single dancer, Julia Mach, performs on stage. Working with interactive designers from the Ars Electronica Futurelab, Obermaier creates a form of cyber choreography where performers and technology interact to create a completely new perception of the body.

The audience experience fascinating distorted visual effects by wearing 3-D glasses, as real-time movements combine with virtual spaces and the dancer's body appears to deconstruct, morph, multiply and engulf the audience. Stravinsky's powerful music dictates the choreography, as well as the subsequent 3D projections.

Philip Glass' Prelude from Akhnaten and Edgard Varese's urban masterpiece Arcana complete this evening of surprise and innovation.

A production of Brucknerhaus Linz and Futurlab/Ars Electronica.

Official Website:

Added by ChrisDodo on March 18, 2007