21250 Stevens Creek Blvd.
Cupertino, California 95014

Peninsula Symphony and Music Director Mitchell Sardou Klein open their 2011-2012 season with two evenings of passionate music-making in "Romantic Masterworks," to be given October 21 and 22. Featuring Tchaikovsky's majestic Fourth Symphony and the colorful White Peacock by American composer Charles Tomlinson Griffes, the program also includes Brahms' thrilling Concerto for Violin and Cello, played by audience favorites and Irving M. Klein International String Competition Winners Nikki Chooi, violin, and David Requiro, cello. The concerts take place October 21 at 8 p.m. at the Fox Theatre in Redwood City and at October 22 at 8 p.m. at the Flint Center/De Anza College in Cupertino. For more information, go to www.peninsulasymphony.org.

The season opening program offers an emotional journey for performers and audiences alike. In Brahms' "Double Concerto," two richly textured solo lines interweave with Brahms' plush orchestral textures, leaving its three movements to cover a huge emotional range, filled with virtuosic solo passages, ardent melodies, and a grand sweep of emotion. Similarly, Tchaikovsky's Fourth also runs the gamut of emotions as he turns to the idea of Fate, reflecting his personal emotional conflicts and struggles to make sense of the world. Throughout the four movements, Tchaikovsky presents a series of anxious, sublime, and energetic episodes, each one haunted in some way by Fate. Finally, Fate is forgotten in a rush of energy, leading into a triumphal Finale, ending in a mood of furious victory. Thrilling, raw and intriguing, these pieces demand an emotional connection with the audience.

Official Website: http://www.peninsulasymphony.org/

Added by FullCalendar on September 1, 2011

Interested 1