6-9 Carlton House Terrace
London, England

This meeting is in collaboration with AAAS.

Organised by
Professor Lorna Casselton FRS (Royal Society)
Professor Mohamed Hassan (Academy of Sciences for the Developing World)
Dr Raghunath Mashelkar FRS (National Chemical Laboratory)
Dr Jim McQuaid FREng (University of Sheffield)
Dr Vaughan Turekian (American Association for the Advancement of Science)
Professor Anthony Cheetham FRS (University of Cambridge)

By bringing together experts from the UK and international scientific and foreign policy communities, this two day meeting will examine the role of science as a source of soft power in foreign policy. The first day will discuss various international perspectives on the meaning, value and tools of science diplomacy, as well as identifying barriers to science diplomacy and how they may be overcome. The second day will then examine the role of science in achieving two key foreign policy goals: maintaining international peace and security, and promoting economic and social development and well being.

Current Speakers and Chairs include:
Professor Howard Alper (Chair, Science, Technology and Innovation Council, Canada)
Professor Paul Berkman (Head, Arctic Oceans Geopolitics Programme, Scott Polar Research Institute, Cambridge University, UK)
Dr Andrée Carter (Director, UK Collaborative on Development Sciences, UK)
Mr Martin Davidson (Chief Executive, British Council, UK)
Dr Nina Fedoroff (Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State, US Department of State, USA)
Dr Anne Harrington (Director, Committee on International Security and Arms Control, National Academies of Science, USA)
Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith FRS (President, Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and its Applications in the Middle East)
Dr Arian Pregenzer (Senior Scientist, Cooperative Monitoring Centre, Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
Dr Yusaf Samiullah OBE (Deputy Director and Head of Profession and Infrastructure, Policy and Research Division, Department for International Development, UK)
Mrs Diana Wallis UK MEP (Vice President, European Parliament, Belgium)
Dr Alfred Watkins (World Bank Science and Technology Program Coordinator)
Mr Jin Xiaonming (Director General (International Cooperation), Ministry of science and Technology, China)

Official Website: http://royalsociety.org/event.asp?id=8409&month=6,2009

Added by Royal Society Events on April 21, 2009