145 Queen St. W.
Toronto, Ontario M5H 4G1

The National Ballet of Canada Orchestra
David Briskin, music director and principal conductor

Chamber Orchestra Concert
The National Ballet of Canada Orchestra presents an engaging program of works for small ensembles. Best known for his large-scale operas, Richard Wagner composed Siegfried Idyll, one of his few non-operatic works, as a birthday present to his wife, Cosima, after the birth of their son Siegfried in 1869. Originally commissioned by choreographer Martha Graham and simply titled Music for Martha, Copland’s Appalachian Spring took its final title from Graham’s landmark 1944 ballet. The program closes with Mozart’s enthralling Symphony No. 29, a deceivingly simple masterpiece by the 18 year-old composer.

Official Website: http://www.coc.ca/performances/concerts_november07.html

Added by bytepusher on November 4, 2007

Interested 2