201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco Bay Area, California 94102

Robin Holloway -- Fourth Concerto for Orchestra (SFS commission, world premiere)
Brahms -- Violin Concerto. Christian Tetzlaff, violin

Brahms’s Violin Concerto is a feast of tunes, here with a spectacular virtuoso as soloist. Tetzlaff, described by the New York Times as “brilliant and inquisitive,” returns after performing as soloist for the season’s Opening Gala.

Robin Holloway is a versatile composer, noted for his rapprochement with tonality and romanticism, emotional power, and exuberant orchestration. Listen to Holloway and you’ll know why MTT champions his work. The Fourth Concerto for Orchestra is Holloway’s third SFS commission.

Official Website: http://www.sfsymphony.org/templates/event_info.asp?nodeid=250&callid=93&eventid=1062

Added by MarkPritchard on January 28, 2007

Interested 1