242 W. 41st
New York, New York 10018

Metropolis Ensemble, New York’s premier professional chamber
orchestra dedicated to emerging a new generation of composers and performers, springs
into the new season with a one-night only concert of 20th century masterpieces at the Times
Center (242 West 41st Street), Thursday, April 10th @ 8:00pm. Led by Artistic
Director/Conductor Andrew Cyr, the concert is soaked by special guest artists including
pianist Anna Polonsky who spearheads the world premiere of Piano Concerto by young
composer Ryan Francis. Complementing the program is a dramatic series of three diverse
modern works that reveal an unfolding vista of color and sensual imagery including
Maurice Ravel’s Trois Poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé and Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Five Images
from Sappho with soprano Kiera Duffy, and Erik Satie’s Sports et Divertissements, 20
brilliant sketches in a newly commissioned arrangement by London-based composer David
Bruce for chamber orchestra and narrator/spoken word artist Mike Daisey.

Ticket Information:
What: Metropolis Ensemble Spring Concert
Where: Times Center (242 W 41st Street at 8th Avenue). Train A/C/E/1/2/3/7/S to
Times Square
When: Thursday, April 10th @ 8:00pm
How: Tickets $20 in advance, $25 at the door. To purchase, visit Metropolis Ensemble at
http://www.metropolisensemble.org or call 1.800.838.3006.

Official Website: http://www.metropolisensemble.org

Added by gottaseeit on March 3, 2008

Interested 1