20 Greene Street
New York City, New York

Matana Roberts

Saxophonist/composer Matana Roberts presents CoinCoin:Installation 1, the first performance of her in-progress musical narrative, which explores the defining moments of one people’s shared history using the traditions of jazz- and improvisation-inspired music. Through original compositions and various ensemble configurations, Roberts pulls together tales from 7 generations and 4 continents of her own colorful ancestral lore in order to paint a musical portrait of an extraordinary, yet classic African American history. With Hill Greene (bass), Jessica Pavone (viola), Daniel Levin (cello) and Mazz Swift (violin), Daniel Givens (laptop and slide projector). Commissioned by Roulette with support from the Jerome Foundation.

Added by Fumio on January 19, 2007

Interested 1