635 Hamilton Ave
Palo Alto, California 94303

Benjamin Simon, conductor
Scott St. John, violin
Sharon Wei, viola

Felix Mendelssohn: Sinfonia No. 9 in C major
Harold Meltzer: Sinfonia Concertante for Violin & Viola [SFCO Commission & World Premiere]
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for Violin & Viola, K. 364

Our three 'M's begin with one of Mendelssohn's precociously brilliant string sinfonias, written at the tender age of 13. These early works were inspired by Bach and Mozart, Mendelssohn's two favorite composers, yet they sound fully "Mendelssohnian." Harold Meltzer is an award-winning composer based in NYC, whose own inspiration was Mozart's singular Sinfonia Concertante. Commissioned by the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra's New Works Program and funded by the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Meltzer's double concerto is paired with Mozart's, one of his most expressive and graceful works.

Classical masterpieces, unusual gems, and new commissions offer something for everyone at our Main Stage Concerts! Be sure to join Maestro Ben Simon for an engaging and informative onstage talk 30 minutes before each concert. Concerts are generally 90 to 120 minutes in length, with an intermission.

Admission is free to all concertgoers! Seating is first come, first served (no tickets). Doors open to supporting members 60 minutes before concert time, and to non-members 45 minutes before concert time. Supporting members receive priority entrance and priority seating. Please bring your membership card, and please arrive no later than 15 minutes before concert time to help us ensure your seating.

Official Website: http://www.sfchamberorchestra.org/events/mainstage/

Added by FullCalendar on November 24, 2012

Interested 1