University of New Orleans, 2045 Lakeshore Drive
New Orleans, Louisiana 70122


9:00 am. – University of New Orleans Chancellor Dr. Timothy Ryan introduces Sen. Landrieu

9:05 am. – Sen. Landrieu delivers opening remarks

9:15 am. – Panel #1: Coastal Protection, Levees and Infrastructure

Panelists (subject to change):

J. Richard Capka, Administrator of Federal Highways, U.S. Department of Transportation

Brigadier General Robert Crear, Commander, Mississippi Valley Division, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Randy Hanchey, Deputy Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources

Carlton Dufrechou, Executive Director of the Lake Pontchartrain Basin Foundation

Jerome Zeringue, Executive Director of the Terrebonne Levee and Conservation District

Randy Roach, Mayor, City of Lake Charles

10:30 am. – Break

10:45 am. – Panel #2: Education

K-12 Panelists (subject to change):

Ollie Tyler, Louisiana Deputy Superintendent of Education

Paul Vallas, Recovery School District Superintendent

Doris Voitier, St. Bernard Parish Schools Superintendent

Matt Candler, CEO, New Schools for New Orleans

Linda Johnson, President, Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Higher Education Panelists (subject to change):

Dr. Norman Francis, President, Xavier University / LRA Chairman

Scott Cowan, President, Tulane University

Dr. Joseph Savoie, Louisiana Commissioner of Higher Education

Dr. Timothy Ryan, Chancellor, University of New Orleans

12:15 pm. – Lunch Break

1:00 pm. – Remarks by the Honorable Steven Preston, Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration

1:15 pm. – Panel #3: Business Recovery

Panelists (subject to change):

Harry Alford, President & CEO, National Black Chamber of Commerce

Ronald N. Langston, National Director, Minority Business Development Agency

Darlene Kattan, Executive Director, Louisiana Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Andy Kopplin, Executive Director, Louisiana Recovery Authority

Eugene Cornelius, Louisiana District Director, U.S. Small Business Administration

Mark Drennen, President & CEO, Greater New Orleans, Inc.

Ernest Broussard, Executive Director of Planning & Development, Cameron Parish Recovery (AICP/CECD)

2:30 pm. – Break

2:45 pm. – Panel #4: Rebuilding the Criminal Justice System

Panelists (subject to change):

Jim Letten, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Louisiana

Warren Riley, Chief, New Orleans Police Department

Bob Stellingworth, New Orleans Police and Justice Foundation

Ruthie Frierson, Citizens for One Greater New Orleans

Mike Ranatza, Executive Director, Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice

Terry Ebbert, Director of Emergency Preparedness, City of New Orleans

4:00 pm. – Break

4:15 pm. – Panel #5: Housing and Sustainable Community Recovery

Panelists (subject to change):

James R. Kelly, CEO of Catholic Charities and Providence Community Housing.

Melissa Flournoy, President and CEO, Louisiana Association of Nonprofit Organizations

Milton Bailey, President, Louisiana Housing Finance Authority (LHFA)

Mtumshi St. Julien, President, N.O. Finance Authority

Reverend Marshall Truehill, Senior Pastor, First United Baptist Church

Ralph Boyd, Chairman, Freddie Mac Foundation

Ken Bacon, Executive Vice President, Fannie Mae

Elizabeth “Boo” Thomas, President and CEO, Center for Planning Excellence

Major General Hunt Downer, Assistant Adjutant General, Louisiana National Guard

5:30 pm. – Break

Presidential Forum

6:30 pm. – Remarks/Q & A: Sen. Edwards

Added by edtrelinski on August 17, 2007