Silk Street
London, England EC2Y 8DS

Barbican Hall
Tickets: £6 £12 £18 £24 £30

Mozart Eine kleine Nachtmusik
Mozart Symphony No 39 in E flat, K543
Brahms Violin Concerto

André Previn conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Few of Mozart’s works are more familiar than the exquisitely turned-out string serenade, Eine kleine Nachtmusik, while the sturdy Symphony No. 39 is a worthy member of the final trilogy that also included No. 40 and the ‘Jupiter’. Brahms’s Violin Concerto is one of the richest in the repertory, not in terms of showy virtuosity, but in its sheer musical substance, almost as if it were a symphony in which a violin simply has the most prominent part.

Official Website:

Added by paolability on January 9, 2008