Silk Street
London, England EC2Y 8DS

Barbican Hall
Tickets: £6 £12 £18 £24 £30

Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Shostakovich Symphony No 15

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Ayako Uehara piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Many composers have written works based on the sprightly tune of Paganini’s last Violin Caprice, but few have achieved such richly romantic results as Rachmaninov in his famous Rhapsody. Shostakovich’s Fifteenth and final Symphony is a conscious farewell to the form, and if its conflicting signals can be hard to figure – especially in its curious, jokey musical quotations– there is no doubting the sincerity of his valedictory message.

Pre-concert talk
6.15pm, Barbican
An informal introduction to the evening's concert.

Official Website:

Added by paolability on January 9, 2008

Interested 1