Silk Street
London, England EC2Y 8DS

Barbican Hall

HAYDN: Symphony No 104 ('London')
MOZART: Violin Concerto No 3 in G, K216
ANDRÉ PREVIN: Double Concerto for Violin, Contrabass and Orchestra
R STRAUSS: Rosenkavelier Suite

André Previn conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter violin
Roman Patkolo double bass

London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £7 - £32

On two visits to London between 1791-95, Haydn composed 12 symphonies – the energetic, expressive work now known as the ‘London’ proved to be his last. Dark shadows cannot disrupt the essential sparkle of Mozart’s Third Violin Concerto, composed in Salzburg in 1775. André Previn wrote his punchy 2004 double concerto for Anne-Sophie Mutter and Roman Patkolo. Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier suite distils the bittersweet essence of his great opera about love and the passing of time.

Official Website:

Added by paolability on June 29, 2008