Plymouth, England

Sonic Arts Network & i-DAT present:


22 – 25 June 2007

The Expo festival makes landfall in Plymouth for a packed weekend of free installations, sonic ferry tours, performances, exhibitions, happenings, a large scale sonic picnic, workshops, gigs, presentations and DJ sets.

Expo is the hub and playground of the experimental music and sound art scene in the UK and beyond. Free and open, the event mobilises a national network of artists and engages with communities from all backgrounds – placing sonic art and the people who make it in direct contact with the public.

Confirmed highlights of this year’s festival include:

Evan Parker and the Behaviour Ensemble - Terraces Café, Plymouth Hoe

Plymouth harbour becomes the backdrop for this festival launch fanfare and outdoor site–specific performance by free improvisation legend Evan Parker and 17 strong cracked electronics ensemble, Behaviour.

Louise K Wilson - Tinside Lido

Audio-cultural archaeologist Wilson launches a newly commissioned installation that traces the resonances of sound, memory and meaning echoing through the bricks of this extraordinary, newly restored public space.

Lock, Stock and Barrel - The New Cooperage Building, Royal William Yards

Expo refills this historic space, once the backbone of the British Navy, with sound and activity, curating a packed programme of sonic production including a brand new festival commission from installation artist Jane Edden.

Sonic Picnic - Western King Point
Sunday afternoon public intervention in this disused military installation, bring a hamper, walk the dog, enjoy an afternoon of outdoor sonic art.

Plymouth Sound

Take a seafaring audio ride to festival sites on the Expo Sonic Ferry.

Expo Late

Three nights of late entertainment, including a club night in the brutalist surroundings of Plymouth central bus station, confirmed headliners include top audio-visual duo Semiconductor.

Details of the full programme will be announced in April.

For the full programme or to join the mailing list please go to:


Official Website:

Added by SonicArtsNetwork on June 13, 2007