Silk Street
London, England EC2Y 8DS

Barbican Hall

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No 1
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No 1
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No 4 (for the left hand)
PROKOFIEV: Symphony No 4 (1930)

Valery Gergiev conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
Alexei Volodin piano

London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £7 - £32

Soon after the premiere of his invigorating First Symphony in 1918, Prokofiev left Russia. He did not return home to live for almost 20 years. Most of the years between he spent in Paris: there he wrote his expressive and radiantly melodic First Violin Voncerto, his ingenious Fourth Piano Concerto (commissioned by a soloist who had lost his right arm) and the original version of his fourth symphony, drawing on ideas from his ballet The Prodigal Son.

Official Website:

Added by paolability on June 29, 2008