200 Ravinia Park Road
Highland Park, Illinois 60035

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
James Conlon, Conductor
Pinchas Zukerman, Violin
Amanda Forsyth, Cello

One of the world’s most popular violinists for over four decades meets one of music’s most popular concertos when violin virtuoso Pinchas Zukerman takes on Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1. Joining him in Saint-Saëns’s ethereal The Muse and the Poet will be his beautiful wife, cellist Amanda Forsyth.
The program also features one of the most vital and thrilling masterworks in the canon, Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition in the sonically spectacular orchestration by Ravel. This piece of art-inspired-by-art is based upon a real art exhibit visited by Mussorgsky, perhaps the most radically individualistic of all Russian composers.
Saint-Saëns: La muse et le poète (“The Muse and the Poet”),Op. 132

Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26

Mussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures at an Exhibition

Official Website: http://www.ravinia.org/ViewDate.aspx?show=128

Added by CHCGODuke on March 26, 2010

Interested 2