30 Lafayette Avenue
Brooklyn, New York

Michael Christie, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, electric violin

TAKEMITSU: "Signals from Heaven"
TAKEMITSU: "Three Film Scores"
BARTÓK: "Divertimento"
JOHN ADAMS: "Dharma at Big Sur"

Single Tickets: $60, $55, $40$, $20
BAM Ticket Services: 718-636-4100
Mon. - Sat. 10 AM - 6 PM

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer John Adams' "Dharma at Big Sur" is a rhapsodic reverie of Califonia's central stretch of coast. Adams' masterwork ambles through haunting stretches of music, ultimately building into what The New York Times called, "a rapturous din so buzzing with piled-on activity and tension that you [can] not tell whether the music [is] about to explode or to implode." The evening also includes works by one of Japan's most successful twentieth-century composers, Toro Takemitsu, and Bartók's "Divertimento"

Official Website: http://www.brooklynphilharmonic.org

Added by BrooklynPhilharmonic on October 24, 2007