201 3rd Street, Ste. 102
San Francisco, California 94103

The San Francisco Bay Area has emerged as a hotbed of serious glass sculpture in recent years, with work created using a large variety of techniques. The resulting pieces showcase the vast vocabulary available to artists working in glass. This important invitational features 23 artists from internationally celebrated masters, such as studio glass pioneer Marvin Lipofsky, to mid-career and emerging sculptors working in the Bay Area who use glass as their primary medium. George and Dorothy Saxe, who have assembled one of the country's foremost glass collections (bequeathed to the De Young Museum in San Francisco) will select from one to three works by each artist. An opening reception will be held on Thursday, November 13th from 5:30-7:30pm.

On view will be wall hung, suspended, free standing and pedestal sized sculptures made from various types of glass, including pate de verre, borosilicate, sheet, recycled glass and exemplifying many different techniques including casting, blowing (free and mold), fusing, slumping, cold-working, hot-working, etc... Some works will use glass combined with different materials.

We are honored to feature Marvin Lipofsky, who is widely recognized as a pioneer in the contemporary glass movement and as the father of Bay Area glass sculpture. After introducing glass as a sculpture medium at UC Berkeley in 1964, he created the glass department for then California College of Arts and Crafts (now CCA) in Oakland, and headed it for twenty years until 1987. In his 45 year career as a glass artist, Lipofsky has been featured in numerous significant exhibitions, including a major retrospective at the Oakland Museum in 2003.

There will be 23 glass artists participating, including Marvin Lipofsky, Clifford Rainey, John Lewis, David Ruth, Latchezar Boyadjiev, Randy Strong, Steven Maslach, Mary White, Bella Feldman, Pamina Traylor and more...


Official Website: http://www.sculpturesitegallery.com

Added by FullCalendar on September 26, 2008