Chalk Farm Road
London, England NW1 8EH

Bajofondo Tango Club
21 OCTOBER 2007 / Roundhouse

Production Detail

“Tango Electronica that improves on the Gotan formula.” Songlines

Led by Gustavo Santaolalla who has composed scores for Brokeback Mountain, Babel and Motorcycle Diaries. Do not miss this stunning ensemble.

Bajofondo Tango Club is a South American music band consisting of seven musicians from Argentina and Uruguay. Often compared to Gotan Project, their music is a fusion of acoustic tango and electronic music, part of an evolving tango genre which is known as Electrotango; or Tango Fusion, which is greatly helping to bring tango back into the mainstream.

The band, which prefers to refer itself as a collective of composers, singers and artists, has a characteristic style that can be considered, besides the aforementioned mixture of tango and electronica, as an innovative form of Drum 'n' Bass, house, chill out and trip-hop. Their first record, Bajofondo Tango Club, was launched in 2004 with great success, with a second lone project from pianist/DJ/composer Luciano Supervielle greeted warmly by reviewers in late 2005.

Official Website:

Added by argonaut on July 18, 2007